Get me a spouse or I’ll die!!!

a7r5ey.jpg

It got your attention, didn’t it? Now lets see how your imagination runs. What do you first think or picture in your mind when you read it? Someone desperate with probably a rope tied around his/her neck wanting to commit suicide because the one they love has either rejected/left them on the way to the altar. Or someone with probably bottles of anti-depressant pills ready to end his/her life by taking an overdose because they don’t think they have a purpose to be on this earth whilst they are single. Or are you like me whose imagination can be a bit wild but can also be calmed down when approaching things of this sort. If you ask me, I see someone with tears in his/her eyes thinking of how his/her life turned this way, how a relationship so wonderful has turned into a bag of complications and leaving him/her alone and dejected. Or lets turn our imagination level a little lower – Perhaps he/she has finally found the ‘one’ who they gave their heart to only to find that ‘one’ wont give their heart to them.

Many people have walked the road of “Get me a spouse or I’ll die” and it is apparent I put the word “I’ll die” in context so as not to leave you in a confused state. What I mean in this case is putting your life on hold because you haven’t found the right partner. Ok! Hello? Hello? Earth to you! Now let’s leave imagination land and step into reality. So why did I choose to write on ‘Get me a spouse or I’ll die’. Can I be real without being judged or eaten alive for breakfast/lunch/dinner depending on when you are reading this piece? Somewhere down there, everyone yearns for a companion so we might as well get real. So what are you getting at? We are single but aint really satisfied, we are irresistible but really irritated, we are ready to mingle but aint no mingling going on yet and we definitely aint feeling no tingle, we know the A-Z of what and what not to do in a relationship but aint in one. I could go on forever but I will stop there. You know what you need? You need to discover Purpose. Purpose?

Yes! Purpose! In his book ‘The purpose driven life’ Rick Warren explains, “The purpose of your life is far greater than your own personal fulfillment, your peace of mind, or even your happiness. It’s far greater than your family, your career, or even your wildest dreams and ambitions. If you want to know why you were placed on this planet, you must begin with God. You were born by his purpose and for his purpose”. Everyone on the face of this earth was created for a purpose, you have got to discover your purpose and run with it. Like Paul “I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead” The journey to discovering purpose is not always a smooth ride. Common! Do you think the enemy wants you to be all that God has called you to be and a bag of chips? Do not underestimate the enemy, he is discerning as well and knows what a great man/woman you will become. He will feed you all sorts of lies, like – you need a man/woman to feel complete. Yeah! And Rome was built in a day! (Puh-lease! Clear the cobwebs out of your head! What a lie from the pits of hell). This in turn will make you desperate to hook up with anything in skirts/trousers but thank goodness that in all these things we are more than conquerors. 

The fact that you are single at this time in your life is part of that big plan. Nothing just happens. It is working together with God’s purpose for your life. God says, “I make known the end from the beginning” The man up there knows it all. You feel time is not on your side? “Do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God (i.e. your God-ordained purpose), you will receive what he has promised. For in just a little while, he who is coming will come and will not delay” Hebrews 10: 36-37. Smile! He/she will come just at the right time. “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future”. What more assurance do you need? Get in line with your God-ordained purpose and see how things begin to change in your life.  Singles! You were placed in the kingdom for such a time as this! Like Michelle McKinney Hammond will say “boot out desperation, get busy with purpose and say hello to self satisfaction”.  

This entry was posted in Singles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get me a spouse or I’ll die!!!

  1. I know you’re talking about! The reality is purpose is already within us… we just have to let it come forth. It wasn’t until I was single (after 26 years of married hell) that I was introduced to Purpose through a more intimate relationship with Jesus Christ. When I accepted my God-given purpose in life my whole perspective on life changed! Now I’m happy and free … I’m the Queen God designed for me to be in His Kingdom.

  2. Nike says:

    Gal, i feel u on this one. Our purpose in life is far beyond having a mate. While i am waiting on my piano star i would reach to those that need help.

  3. niyi olaleye says:

    this is a nice piece of work, you are a gem. this is the lord’s doing it is marvelous in our own eyes.

  4. Inuke Davis says:

    I was really blessed by this article. I havent gottent to the “Ill Die” part but i realise that recently i have been spending my energy fantasizing about the one instead of spending my singlehood growing with GOD.I will keep this quote in mind

    boot out desperation, get busy with purpose and say hello to self satisfaction”.

    Nice write up.

    Inuke.

Leave a Reply

