Why singles are staying single IV

a7f05n.jpg

This is the continuation from The Unspoken Truth Series – Why singles are staying single II. You will need to read I & II to understand what you are about to read…Enjoy!

“Five minutes and I’m out of here,” I said out loudly. I knew if I was to start this conversation with AO, I would not make the 11 o clock deadline. We had a single’s chat show in church on Saturday and during the discussion, Minister F pointed out something I thought was very important. We were all there except for AO of course who had missed it. “I think it’s actually part of the reason why some singles are still single.” YO said, leaving the room to pick up her phone. “True” everyone murmured.

“Guys, what did he say?” AO asked again, this time a bit frustrated. I stood up, picked my bag…If I was to give him the gist, I’d prefer to do it in a mode that says –I’m on my way out, after this. “Minister F mentioned the fact that some people, especially ladies are just too fake, pretending to be what they are not…” It was obvious AO agreed on what I had just said and wanted to comment…I wasn’t going to give him the chance…I do that and I will be there for the next 2 hrs celebrating my birthday with a debate on why singles are still single. No way!

 I continued, “He said, he knows most of the singles and that he’s seen different sides to them outside the church. He hit the nail on the head when he said and I quote, “When you pretend to be who you are not, maybe the guy that is watching you is interested in your real character and not the one you are pretending to be….” He went on to give, examples like people speaking with unnecessary accents…AK interrupted, “And maybe the guy is in love with your African accent and you speaking the Queen’s English totally intimidates the poor brother.” BN, AO and I laughed. I continued, “Minister F said we should let hair down (not literally) and have fun, go out because that was how it was back in their days…” I concluded. “Men, Minister F doesn’t beat around the bush…” AK was saying before YO walked in to interrupt him, “At all and….”I immediately cut YO off, I could feel it coming, another debate…Knowing my CARE members toooo well, we could discuss till daybreak. In the corner of my eyes, I saw BN who was ready to leave previously, getting comfortable again on the sofa.

“Aiight, girls and guys I have to go…I need to make it home in time to pray…”I said “True, its getting late….”AK said. “Let’s go Deola…,”BN said, standing up from the sofa. Bye Deola, have a wonderful day tomorrow, Happy birthday….we will call you later…” they all chorused….”Thank you, I’ll write an article about what we’ve discussed…I really do think, the whole world needs to hear this…” I said leaving the room and walking towards the door. “You should…” they replied and with that BN and I dashed out of the house.

I got home for 11:03pm and dashed straight into my room to pray. You should have seen the look on my sister’s face who was clueless to how I had brushed past her without saying a word dropping my bag and what not in the passage. Lol!  I later explained my reasons though…

The next day was my birthday. It was going to be a quiet one but my colleagues in the office thought otherwise. They decided, we needed to celebrate – Thai food and the works! And guess what? I sort of mentioned what happened the night before and we started a whole new discussion, still on “Why singles are staying single” but this time it was a different. I was getting tips from the other end of the stick…A mature single who is already courting…the hurdles he had to overcome…Right there, in the middle of lunch, the black notepad and pen had to come out.

“Sorry AB, you were saying…”

I hope you have enjoyed the story. It is actually a true one; I wasn’t so sure how to pass the message across so I decided to write it just the way it happened. I am amazed at the increasing number of people that have read the series and for all those who have send emails and text messages…thank you! It is a learning curve for us all; I have also learnt many things in the process. Thank you YK, LK, B, Adebola and God’s leading lady for those comments.

Log back in during the week when I’ll be sharing what I learnt from AB, one-to-one discussion with friends and also my opinion on the whole debate.

Watch this space – Why singles are staying single V

Just to add, I would suggest everyone read the comments under Why singles are staying single III. LK, B, Adebola and God’s leading Lady left some fantastic points on there.

This entry was posted in Singles, The Unspoken Truth Series. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why singles are staying single IV

  1. FG says:

    Keep writing this stuff. Tell us about your friend’s experiences. I’m reading with interest because I want to know what’s going on in guys’ minds nowadays.

  2. TEEWA says:

    YOU TALKED ABOUT PRETENCE. MOST GUYS AND GIRLS GET TO A POINT WHERE THEY ARE DESPERATE. IN THEIR DESPERACY, THEY START TRYING TOO HARD: HYPING THE PARTS OF THEM THAT THEY THINK LL BE ATTRACTIVE TO THE OTHER PARTY. A GIRL WITH A LOT OF GUTS SUDDENLY STARTS ACTING THE LAMB. THERE PROBABLY IS A LAMB IN HER SOMEWHERE BUT ITS RATHER REMOTE. SHE FORGETS, HE PROBABLY WANTS A GIRL WITH A LIL MORE SPIRIT.
    PEOPLE CAN JUST TELL WHEN YOU RE MAKING EFFORT, HOW MUCH MORE WHEN YOU RE TRYING TOO HARD.

  3. Tomche says:

    Hi, I would love to get a link from within the article to my article on staying single at http://www.lovenemotions.com/relationships/staying-single.php

    Please let me know if that would be possible if I exchange or pay.

    Please delete this comment..

  4. funmi says:

    sweety,i enjoyed dis so much.
    keep it up

  5. This was a fantastic guide as usual friend

Leave a Reply

