Waiting to Exhale?

amgdh3.jpg

It is very easy to think maybe God has forgotten your case, are you one of those people thinking “God where is that dashing guy You promised me? How about the beautiful lady that can hit more than an octave high in the choir You spoke to me about? Why haven’t I seen the manifestations? Is this year going to pass by again without the fulfilment of Your promises? God is it?”

Can we put a lid on those thoughts for a second please? While you are deliberating in your hearts, murmuring with your mouth and trying to comprehend using carnal computations on why these promises aren’t fulfilled yet, has it for one tiny second flown through your mind that it’s really not about you?

I will take you into facets of why you are still waiting to exhale but first let’s look at the story of Hannah. The bible records in the book of Samuel that the Lord had shut up Hannah’s womb. “But why would God do that?” because Hannah had not realised it was not really about her. God had a plan for that child she wanted so badly. She had no idea she was carrying a prophet in her womb.  

“Verily, Verily, I say unto you. Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.” John 12:24 

Oh my! It took Hannah a while to realise that her thoughts ((seed) – a seed is not necessarily money sown) had to die to her purpose to fulfil God’s purpose. When that revelation hit her, the bible says, “She vowed saying, O Lord of hosts, if You will indeed look on the affliction of Your handmaid and [earnestly] remember, and not forget Your handmaid but will give me a son, I will give him to the Lord all his life.”

 I’m sure God was like “Why did it take you so long to realise it was not all about you?” “Hannah became pregnant and in due time bore a son and named him Samuel [heard of God]. Because she said, I have asked him of the Lord.”  God has a plan for your marriage and there are some things in you that needs to die before His purpose can be accomplished. For some it may be anger, attitude problem, pride and arrogance for others it may be impatience, unnecessary ego, envy, bad mouthing etc. Search yourself and deal with your own stuff.

Have you actually sat down to check areas in your life that needs working on? God knows that attitude problem in you needs to go before He can hook you up with that lady else it will be a match made in hell. Do not be fooled sista girl into thinking because God said it, it will happen without you having to play your part. Deal with that pride! 

“When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” James 4:3 

You may be waiting on God but God is also waiting for you to start asking things for the right reasons. Sincerely, look deep within you and ask why you really want that guy or that lady? Is it for your own selfish motives? If that is your intention then you had better renew your mind.

Back to the story of Hannah – Elkanah had two wives: Hannah and Peninnah. The bible records, because the Lord had given Hannah no children, it embarrassed and grieved her. Her rival, Peniannah who had children of her own provoked Hannah greatly to vex her because the Lord had left her childless. So year after year; whenever Hannah went up to the Lord’s house, Peninnah would provoke her until the point of tears and she would deliberately starve herself.

I can imagine the sort of prayers Hannah used to pray prior to the realisation that it wasn’t about her. “My lord, see how puffy my eyes are and see how many stones I have lost due to Peniannah’s teases because of my childlessness. Give me a child so I can show her.”

You see, Hannah had a promise as well that “None shall be barren” but she had to tie her desires to God’s purpose for her life and that of the unborn child before God could release her harvest. 

It may not even be about marriage alone and some may be asking, “Well I know its all about Him, I have dealt with my issues and I’m asking for the right reasons. Why haven’t I seen my promises yet?” My dear, it is yet for an appointed time, be rest assured that it will happen in the fullness of His time. Worship Him, rely on His faithfulness, get busy with purpose and most importantly exhale!

This entry was posted in Singles. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting to Exhale?

  1. korede a says:

    deola mehn this is on point.

  2. Dark says:

    Stumbled across your blog recently, very good stuff, keep it up.
    Your last post is the truth that a lot of people dont want to hear or deal with.

  3. Tinsingle says:

    Hi Deola,
    I stumbled on your blog and it has been a thoroughly enjoyable read!!! I currently moved to the New Jersey/ New York border area in the states and I would like to surround myself with interesting, dynamic, Christian singles like you seem to have.

    Do you know of any Christian Singles programs in the New York area? I would appreciate any info you may have.

    Once again, keep up the good work. Its blogs and forums like this that I need in my life as I feel I really need to be 100% committed to my faith at this point in my life.

  4. Hello Tinsingle….thanks for dropping by…..awwww! I am based in England and wont be able to give you any info on single programs in your specified location. But I’m pretty sure, if you get connected to a local church there should be some sort of singles network…….

    I know what you mean by wanting to commit to your faith 100%…I guess everyone comes to a point in thier life when they have to make that sort of decision and I am glad you’ve made the right one.

    I try to update regularly so keep visiting this blog…..I’m sure it will bless you. Thanks dear

  5. korede says:

    het Tinsingle shoot me an email with your contact info at korede1 at homail dot com

  6. Adi says:

    Just read your article and i think it needs to be hammered more- you know the get busy with purpose part.Most singles paticularly females get into overdrive when they hit “that age” and marriage is till not in sight.Thanks for showing that relationships are not the all in all!

  7. g. jackson says:

    It’s no accident that I came across this site. This was divine. I received a prophecy re: Hannah and I’ve been searching for readings on Hannah and this reading has brought it home for me. This morning in prayer I further asked the Lord to show me the meaning of this dream that my mother had about me being pregnant a few years ago. I wasn’t even married and for her to speak that was prophetic because my mother is a true Christian. This has really blessed me and I can’t wait to share it with my husband

  8. I’m happy you got blessed through this article. God bless you

Leave a Reply

