Myth or Reality – Is there only one person for me?

ar1j45.jpg

Ever been in a situation where it seems as though you are tired of hearing about people’s opinion? Ok! Let me shed a bit of light in what I’m trying to put across – I woke up this particular Sunday morning quite excited in my spirit and suddenly the events of the previous night popped into my mind- what happened? I had some friends over and we picked on different topic to delibrate on, which no doubt was quite exciting but in the midst of  the argument the door bell rang and in came another friend who had an interesting book with him. What could be in this book that could possibly make me want to write about, right? ` 

I’m sure you’ve heard it said in so many ways – “Love is a choice”, “God can choose a husband for you”, “You were made for one particular person – i.e. there is only one person out there for you”, “No, God cannot choose a husband/wife for you because he has given you the power of choice.” e.t.c. everything all boils down to the question in most people’s mind – Is there really one person out there for me or not? It is quite interesting how so many people have tried in one way or the other to justify these mind bugging questions using the same text in the bible i.e. the story of Adam and Eve.  

“So the LORD God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and closed up the place with flesh. Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man.  The man said,
“This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman’ for she was taken out of man.” Genesis 2:21-23     
 

Some have argued that when God created Adam, He put him to sleep and from his rib He made Eve for him and not Evelyn or Edith. This particular book with my friend brought another light to that same text- The author blatantly threw the idea of “one person” into the bin and called it a myth and that there are almost 6 billion people on the face of the earth- what is the likelihood you would ever meet? He argued his point that after God made the woman; He brought her to the man (because he has a freewill to choose) and then it was the man that said “this is now bone of my bones…” therefore, it was Adam that made the decision of taking Eve as a wife meaning he could have rejected her if he wanted to. Hmmm – This author had a point.

I had completely switched off at this point. Somewhere in my living room, my friends had started arguing about ‘Is love really a choice?” I figured the only way to get an answer is to leave the sitting room of common sense & people’s opinion. I knew the quicker I did that, the better it would help with my sanity.

To be continued…………………

This entry was posted in Singles. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Myth or Reality – Is there only one person for me?

  1. Bimpe says:

    That’s such and interesting and though provoking write up! I don’t quite know what to say about the issue that has’nt been said before. However, all i know is we are all in a “personal” relationship with God, and thus he deals with us uniquely. He knows where we are and meets us right where we are. Additionally, since we are all at different levels of maturity and understanding, i believe what’s important is that we do the little we know to do, act “in faith” on whatever we believe and trust God to point us in the right direction as he leads us each step of the way up the path He has mapped out for us,. Rather than being double-minded and trying to immitate the way it seems God is dealing with the next person. I look forward to the continuation….You are truly a gifted writer…God bless you!

  2. Ebunoluwa says:

    I dont believe theres just one person out there for anybody. God forbids ur so called “soul mate” dies and you are widowed I believe that God wouldnt want you to be alone for the rest of ur life I believe that he’ll definately bring someone else along who may even love you more and vice versa!!!!

  3. Tunde says:

    hi adeola..must just say its comforting to find someone and a place like this on the web. will definetly stay hooked.
    you are blessed, no doubt, i’m always joyed when i come across christians that are living their calling according to the grace made available by God. I’m single for the moment and letting God lead me on.
    peace.

  4. pitty says:

    hey can you help me ? a boy had said this words:
    you are the only person for me(w. 1,3)

    i don’t know what he’s meaning?
    do you know what means w. 1,3???

    when you know it, please write a mail at my address: sonnyfan.no-1@web.de

    you would help me very much!

    thank you

  5. Hello Pitty,
    Thanks for stopping by!!! hmmmm…..i really dont know what (w. 1,3) means…i’m sorry. Have you tried asking him? I think you should…then we can continue from there. Take care dear. X

  6. ayo says:

    just thot i shd drop a line with regards to the article. i believe the lord has let for us all a manual called the holy bible and also a part of him called the holy spirit to guide true belivers in their quest to understand what his will is for each persons life.

    having said this its obvious that the lord being a God that is not a GOD of confusion has a perfect will in marriage for every man or woman.

    becos of the nature of mankind
    1. doubt and unbelief
    2. lack of solid prayer life, enabling one to seek the face of the lord diligently for future partner
    people end up with the wrong choice for marriage. if u ask the holy spirit to help u to direct the right person to you like the servant of abraham did my question to you is

    IS THERE ANYTHING THAT IS TO DIFFICULT FOR OUR LORD JESUS.

  7. OMO says:

    This is a wonderful piece! I strongly beliief that God created each and every one of us for a purpose, and I pray that this will manifest in our lives IJN. I want all to know that in as much as there is someone out there for us, God is ready to supervene upon anybody who doesn’t want His wishes for us to be fulfilled. Remain blessed.

Leave a Reply

